Review: Zoya Sookie

This is one of my newest purchases from Zoya, a red polish called Sookie. This is a bright, pure red without any hint of orange. I was a little wary about this one because I wasn’t sure if it would end up dark red and be too similar to colors I already own. In the end, I couldn’t resist the picture of the bottle.. (come on, doesn’t that look pretty?). Thank goodness I gave in, because this is a great polish.

If you’re trying to imagine what shade this will be in person, think about those red plastic cups you use at parties, this is similar (maybe a shade lighter or so). It’s not dark, there’s no orange or burgundy tones, just vibrant red. The formula on this is fantastic, too. I was able to achieve the bottle color in one coat with no streaks at all! I added a second coat just to see if there would be any difference, and there wasn’t. This stuff goes on smoothly too, I was rushing and nicked the polish, and without thinking I tried to fix it without letting that nail dry a little first. Any other polish would’ve left a noticeable uneven glop (for lack of a better term), but this polish smoothed right out and my mistake was completely undetectable.

This is an absolutely perfect summer red that I highly recommend. You could probably wear this into the colder seasons as well because it has more of a “classic” color than a trendy one. As opposed to say, a bright yellow polish that would seem out of place with darker fall and winter fashion. I also think this would be a great base color for Konad designs. If you try it, let me know how you like it or link to your own photos of it in the comments! I’ve decided not to post my picture of my nails with Sookie, because the lighting makes it look too orange and I don’t want to mislead anyone. The next time I wear it, I’ll try to get a better photo. I would definitely suggest a base coat for this to help prevent nail staining, and probably a top coat as well because any chips are going to be very noticeable. I’m currently using one from Qtica over it. Be sure to check out Sookie and all the other lovely reds from Zoya. They currently have a free shipping code as well… what are you waiting for?

One thought on “Review: Zoya Sookie

Leave a Reply

