Review: September Birchbox

This month’s Birchbox theme was about celebrating the customer and every side of the Birchbox personality. I posted a quick look at my box when I first got it, and now that I’ve had a chance to try everything, let’s get to the reviews!

Salvatore Ferragamo Attimo L’Eau Florale – I’m pretty sure that everyone got a perfume sample this month. I think there were about three different ones that went out. This was just a standard little vial sample in a card, something you could probably pick up at any department store. I’m not much of a perfume person, generally I’ll find one that isn’t too strong and stick with that brand for a while. I used to wear Chanel Chance, and more recently I’ve been using Roses 4 Reines solid perfume by L’Occitane. That being said, I wanted to give this sample a fair chance, so I wore it for an entire day. It’s not a bad scent, but ended up being much too strong, and I could smell it on myself all day, even after a shower. This one is definitely not for me.

Jurlique Purely Age-Defying Firm and Lift Cream – This is a nice little cream that you warm in your fingers and then press into your face and neck. A small amount seemed to go pretty far and it felt nice on my skin. However, after only a couple of uses I got a really bad breakout. I’m not positive that this is what caused it, but it was the only new item I was using on my face at the time. My skin is fairly sensitive, but I normally do not get this many blemishes from trying a new product. It took days to clear up. There could’ve been other factors, just be careful if you have sensitive skin, and check out more reviews to see if anyone else had this issue. I might try it again when I’m feeling brave and see if I have any better luck. I really wanted to like this product, but for now, I won’t be buying it.

Jouer Lip Enhancer – I am definitely a lip product junkie. I have about eight different kinds of lip products in my desk drawer right now, because I really don’t like having chapped lips. Who does? I thought this sample seemed pretty small, but a little goes a long way. And oh my, this stuff is fantastic. It has a subtle hint of color, makes your lips soft and supple, and is not the least bit goopy or sticky. It’s like the ultimate lip balm. I love it, and even use a small amount before bed and my lips look great when I wake up. I can definitely see why the Birchbox girls love it and included it in every box. There’s an excellent chance that this might be my first full sized purchase from Birchbox. A full size tube is $14, but since it’s long lasting on your lips and you don’t need alot of product, I think it’s worth it. I am however concerned that when looking through the ingredient list online (which I don’t always do), i found several parabens included, so keep that in mind and do your own research.

Incoco Nail Polish Applique- I really loved these strips and you can check out my full review with pictures here. For me, this was the best product in the box and made it worth the price this month. I’m still wearing them, in fact.

Colorescience Pro Sunforgettable Mineral Sun Protection – This is a nice concept, it’s a light mineral powder with spf 30. It came in a generous sized sample jar and the shade I got was medium. I’m guessing this is meant to go over foundation, or for days that you skip it. It’s pretty sheer and I don’t think it’s intended to give you any coverage, just to give you a nice finish and maybe absorb some oil like a translucent powder. It’s not a bad product, but I already wear Bare Minerals foundation, which gives coverage as well as spf, so this wasn’t an ideal choice for me. I’m sure I’ll use it once in a while when I want something lighter, but I won’t be purchasing it. The full size does come built into the handle of a brush, so it would be nice to keep in your purse if you aren’t already using something with spf. I’m thinking this could also be nice dusted over a tinted moisturizer for lighter makeup days.

Birchbox Bracelet – In honor of their one year anniversary, each box came with a birchbox friendship bracelet. This was a cute little extra, a hot pink thread bracelet with a silver square logo in the center. It’s adjustable, so that was nice. It might even give you a chance to strike up a conversation with someone who is wearing one, you know you’ll have at least one thing in common!

Leave a Reply

