Clarisonic Diary: Week 1

Hi everyone, Happy New Year! With the start of each new year, most of us write out, (or at least casually consider) a few resolutions to make our year better than the previous one. I’m the type of person who makes alot of resolutions during the year, rather than just on New Year’s Eve, although that doesn’t mean I’m any more dedicated to following through! This year, one of my resolutions/plans/random thoughts, or whatever you want to call it, is to take better care of my skin.

As you may have noticed by now, I’m a big fan of makeup and all things cosmetic, but skincare often gets bumped a little lower on the priorities list. That was my main reason for getting a Clarisonic this Christmas. Now that I have one, I thought I’d share my experience with you a little bit. I’ll try to post about this on a weekly basis, so that if you’re considering trying one out you can have an idea of what to expect. I don’t think I’m brave enough to post makeup-free update pictures, so you’ll just have to take my word for it!

Week 1 – Started using the Clarisonic Mia 2 on Christmas Day. It’s now one week later, and I’m already seeing some minor changes in my skin. As I mentioned in my previous post, I’m starting out using Purpose bar soap that I was already using, rather than the included cleanser (Purity). Twice a day I wet my face and rub the soap directly on my skin, rather than on the brush, wet the brush slightly and go over my face with the Mia for one minute as per the instructions. I turn it on one more time to go over my neck. A few nights I have fallen asleep or for some other reason only used the Clarisonic once for that day, but have been using it everyday. My skin feels softer when I touch my face, and the winter flakiness has improved a bit. I still haven’t tried the deep pore brush, but will probably do that within the next week. Last night I took the brush head off and washed everything with antibacterial soap, the instructions say to do this once a week. The brush head removes like a child safety cap, so it wasn’t a big deal to take it apart. After I used it again, the light on the handle was flashing (as it did yesterday morning) to indicate that the battery was getting low. I plugged it in, and this is the first time I’ve charged it since the initial 24 hour charge when I opened it. It’s taking a little longer to charge than I thought, but since this doesn’t need to be done that often it isn’t a big issue. I’ve noticed that the sensitive brush head is starting to feel slightly rougher on my skin than it did at first, and I think that’s due to the fact that my face is now more exfoliated and soft. So far I am really enjoying using the Clarisonic, and I really like how clean my skin feels. As a mineral makeup user, I have often felt like washing my face was leaving traces of makeup behind. Now my skin feels thoroughly clean and my products seem to be going on a little better too.

In other news, I had initially said that the Julep Glycolic Acid Hand Scrub had a super watery texture. Luckily, my friend Cricket also recieved the scrub, and mentioned that it helps to shake it up. Whoops! So I shook mine up, and found that it helped alot. There are seeds in there, who knew?! It’s exfoliatey! Sorry for not having the common sense to try that in the first place, lol. Anyway, it’s working much better and my hands feel really soft, I like it! I’m still unsure about the Julep nail polish, however, as the red shade I am wearing (Catherine) began chipping after only one day. I’m reserving a final judgement until I can try it with a base and top coat, and ‘swipe the ends’ to seal them, as they suggested. I’ll be posting a comparison of Catherine with Zoya’s Sookie in the next day or so, since they seem to be very similar in color. Catherine is a gorgeous color, and the Julep program seems really cool, but I’m not happy with all this tip wear. Further testing is needed before I make up my mind whether I will be staying with Julep Maven this month.

On Twitter, Zoya has posted that there is a big promotion coming on Tuesday, so keep an eye out! They have also posted the new spring collection, and a few of the nail polish sites have swatches. Also you can look forward to a guest post soon from my friend Cricket, who has promised NOT to write about the mating habits of tree slugs. That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

