Feather Hair Extensions

Glamdox would like to thank the lovely Cricket for the following guest post! And would also like to point out how pretty Crickets’ nails look in these pictures! πŸ™‚

The first week of January, I got obsessed with something: feather hair extensions.

They’re just so pretty, and so unusual. And they’re a non-permanent way to do something different and interesting with your hair. So this past weekend, I absolutely just had to get some.

They come in a variety of colors and you can find both natural rooster feathers and synthetic. There’s a lot of brouhaha about the natural feathers because of suspected harvesting practices, but I’ll let you do your own due diligence on that. The ones I got are synthetic, and I got two: one in a grey-ish stripe and the other in turquoise.

A side note here. I have a lot of hair, but it’s very fine. It is also really, really long. It likes to knot up, all by itself. Once I brush it, two minutes later it is knotted again, even if I haven’t moved. I’ve gotten used to it, but I was worried about how these factors would affect the extensions.

In case you’ve never gotten extensions (I hadn’t) of any kind, here’s how these are attached. There’s a little bead, kind of a small band, that gets both a few strands of your hair and the extension slid through. Then the stylist crimps the bead to secure the extension to your hair.

Mine were not placed right at the root, but close.

I’m pretty tender-scalped, so my initial reaction was “ow!” but it’s not anything serious. This may sound silly, but I could feel the crimps the whole rest of the day. My theory on this is because there are multiple strands of hair in there and I have an insanely sensitive scalp. Your mileage will almost assuredly vary.

As of day two, I couldn’t feel them at all unless I reached up and touched them.

Mine are pretty subtle. My stylist put them on the side, under the top layer or two of hair. When I move my hair a certain way, you can see them, but they don’t leap right out at you.

I’m really, really careful when I brush my hair. I pull the upper layers away and brush them separately, then I hold onto the area near the crimps and carefully brush the area with the extensions. So far, so good.

I’ve pulled my hair into a ponytail, and that works well. You can see the extensions a little better that way, but you can also see my beads, too. But again, my hair is really fine, even though there is quite a bit of it, and when it’s pulled back, it lays really flat. If I pulled it into a much looser tail, I could probably cover the crimps better.

Today I washed my hair for the first time since getting them put in.

My hair washed really well, but I was careful around the area with the beads. Because of the aforementioned issues with knotting, and the length, I always brush before I wash it and then I have to comb it afterward with a wide-toothed comb. This is the second part I was really concerned about. I combed the same way I brushed, by pulling the upper layer to the other side, combing that, then carefully holding the crimps and combing gently below.

Brushing/combing is going to take a bit more concentration with the extensions in, but so far it doesn’t seem to be a problem. I was also concerned that the extensions would slide off my hair super easily — perms fall out of my hair — but so far that hasn’t happened, either. I can’t tell if they have moved at all, so I’m taking that as they haven’t.

They’re supposed to last for as long as three months, so the clock is ticking! I’ll post an update in a month or two. Also, these were not expensive. I’ve always heard extensions are very expensive, but these are just an accent piece, made from synthetic materials. I found a stylist here that put everything in for $10. I’m sure that’s pretty much the going rate no matter where you are, but if you’re interested, call around to salons in the area and see what they say.

2 thoughts on “Feather Hair Extensions

    • I have the other blue from Zoya, I think it’s a little darker. Indigo, I think is the name but I’m not positive. They have a pic somewhere of the ‘starry night manicure’ that’s dark blue with silver (Trixie) tips. I tried it once, I’ll have to do it again soon and get some pics.

Leave a Reply

