Clarisonic Diary: Week 3

Hi everyone, I just wanted to make an update about my progress with the Clarisonic Mia 2. Last week I mentioned that I had been really slacking and not using it twice per day the way you’re supposed to. Because of this, let’s just consider this update to be what should have happened during week two.

Since the Purpose soap was becoming too drying for me to use twice per day, I decided to go ahead and start using the Philosophy Purity that came with the Clarisonic. I had used Purity several years ago, but thought that I remembered being unimpressed by it. So this past week I’ve been using my Clarisonic twice per day (although I still missed a time or two) with the Purity soap exclusively. I’m no longer using Purpose bar soap at all. I have to say, it’s made a big difference. After using the Purity with the Mia, my skin feels so soft and clean. The flakiness is gone and my skin overall looks better. I’ve had one small breakout, but I don’t think it was from the Purity.

I’m really happy with my Clarisonic. I feel like my skin is cleaner, the dryness has improved, and the overall tone and texture is a bit better. It’s not a huge difference so far, but I feel like I’m making progress toward healthier looking skin. The redness that I often have has toned down and my face and neck feel soft. The downside to that is that I keep touching my face! Luckily I’m somewhat of a compulsive hand washer, so maybe that’s not too bad. 😉

My impression of the Mia 2 is very favorable. It’s easy to hold, extremely fast to use, and I love having the light on the handle to flash when it needs to be charged. Charging is a little slower than I expected, but luckily it doesn’t need to be done that often. I charge it overnight about once a week, after using it twice a day with two 1 minute cycles each use (one for face, a second cycle for my neck and little ‘touch ups’). If you only did the one minute cycle, you would charge it even less. It’s easy to remove the brush head for cleaning or to change it, they snap on and off like a child proof cap. I still haven’t used my deep pore brush head, but will probably start using it a few times per week. After using the Clarisonic, the brush stays very wet. If you put the cap back on (which does have air holes) it probably won’t be dry by the next use. I generally try to dry it off on a towel before replacing the cap. I think I read somewhere that you can dry it by rubbing it on a towel while it’s on, but I’m not sure if that’s recommended to do every time. The only other little quirk is that while you can pause it, there doesn’t seem to be a way to turn it off. Once on, it has to run it’s complete one minute cycle before it turns off. This isn’t a huge deal since it’s only a minute, but still kind of odd. Overall I am very happy with my Mia 2 and have not experienced any ‘purging’ breakouts that people sometimes mention, and if I had it to do over again I would definitely still get it.

Leave a Reply

