January Birchbox (2012): Review

Clarks Botanicals Smoothing Marine Cream – I was excited to try this cream because the full size is a whopping $115. While I definitely have no immediate plans to buy this, I am really enjoying the generous sized sample. It has a unique – yet not unpleasant scent that’s fresh but also seems to be in line with the word ‘marine’ in the title. The cream itself is thick and feels luxurious going on, as you would expect with such a high price tag. I like to use it at night because although it isn’t greasy, it does seem a little heavy to use before makeup. I will definitely use up the sample but I can’t say for sure that it’s worth the full price, though it did make my skin very soft.

Juicy Couture Perfume – As usual, I’m not that crazy about getting perfume samples. However this was at least a nice size and had a spray top. I was willing to give it a try so I wore it for an entire day. Thankfully it didn’t give me a headache, but wasn’t really my style either. Fragrance is so subjective so I’m sure alot of people enjoyed this one, it’s just not for me.

Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eyeliner – First of all, this product was FULL SIZED. Do I really even need to say more? Haha but seriously, this is a $20 value so it more than paid for the entire box. The color I received was Blue Ribbon, which I thought would be a sort of slate/silvery blue, based on the tube. In reality it was more of a blue-black, but that was fine with me. I’ve been using cream eyeliner and a brush for years now, so using a twist up liner again took a little getting used to. At first I tried lining my eyes all the way around, since it’s waterproof, but that just looked really bad on me. So the next time I used it the way I normally would, just across the top lash line with a slight wing. The line came out a little less precise than I wanted so I used a small brush to smudge it slightly, although it does set very quickly. It lasts really well and looks quite nice. I still kind of prefer my cream eyeliner, but this is nice to have as a back up.

Archipelago Pomegranate Body Soap – This little mini soap would look perfect in a guest bathroom. One side has the word Archipelago etched in a pretty script, and the other side is a carved floral design. It has a slight arch to it for another elegant little touch. The scent was quite pleasant and not overpowering, in fact it doesn’t seem to linger at all, or if it does it’s really subtle. I did enjoy this, but I didn’t feel like it was very moisturizing. I prefer body wash, but I like the idea that this is full of botanicals and things that are good for your skin. Maybe I would have better luck with this in summer, but for now it just made my dry winter skin feel a little tight, the way other bar soaps often do. That being said, I really have nothing against this nice little soap it just wouldn’t be my first choice. I will use up the sample but I probably won’t purchase the full size.

Larabar Mini Bar – I got this in Cherry Pie flavor, but to be honest I can’t tell you how it was because I didn’t eat it. I’ve grumbled on here before about the inclusion of food in Birchbox, so I really don’t need to go into it again. It just isn’t my thing and I wasn’t impressed with it, but I’m sure some people liked it.

Birchbox Magnet – A cute little extra, a magnet with the Birchbox logo. It’s very thin, but decent enough to hang a picture on your fridge. Nice 🙂

Overall I was pleased with this months Birchbox. The full sized eyeliner was definitely worth the subscription this month just on it’s own. I also really liked trying the Clarks which I never would have tried otherwise, and the soap was really cute and useful.

*I’d like to point out that Birchboxes are currently sold out for new subscribers and only waitlist is available, hopefully they will reopen soon.

Leave a Reply

