Review: Blinc Heated Eyelash Curler

A few years ago, I was curling my eyelashes with one of those metal eyelash curlers – the standard kind that resemble some sort of medieval torture device. As I curled the outer corner of my lashes, somehow, a few of my tiny outer lashes became caught in the curler. This was probably just the result of a cheap eyelash curler and me not being careful enough, but it was painful and pretty difficult to get the thing OFF my eye. After that, I basically gave up on eyelash curling all together. I do have a couple of the cheap plastic curlers, and I use them on occasion, but for the most part I don’t bother.

So when I read about the Blinc Heated Eyelash Curler, it seemed like a perfect solution. Supposedly, it curls using a small heated comb that you brush against your eyelashes as you would a mascara wand. Thanks to my best friend, I had a giftcard for Blinc, and I chose to spend it on that. I had to wait several weeks for the eyelash curler to be back in stock, but when I finally ordered it, it arrived pretty quickly.

The eyelash curler came packaged in a purple plastic tube, which is cute, and I suppose could be good for travel – although the cap on the curler snaps on pretty securely so you don’t really need to store it in the tube. There is a little set of instructions inside the tube, and also printed on the outside of it, which repeatedly reminds you to take the plastic off of the battery before attempting to use. Even my order confirmation email reminded me to take the plastic off, making me think this must be a really common issue.

The curler itself is very straightforward. It’s the same size and shape as one of those micro trimmers, and has one small battery inside (AAA). The heating element is inside tiny coils in the end of it, that are wrapped in thicker plastic bands to protect you from getting burned. On the back of the curling end, is a small red indicator. Once you switch the curler on, the little red oval quickly fades into a bright yellow to show you that it’s ready to use.

When you switch on the curler, it takes only about 30 seconds to heat up. I was pretty impressed with how quickly that happens, and when you press it to your lashes you can definitely feel the heat radiating out of it. The directions say to start in the center of your lashes, holding the curler against them and brushing upwards, holding for 5 seconds and then pressing against the tips of your lashes. There is definitely a big of a learning curve here. I have used it several times and never really managed to get a ‘curled’ look, the way you might with a clamp style curler.

Overall, I like this item quite a bit. In spite of not necessarily getting curly lashes, it does give my lashes some lift and a bit of curl. I think if I keep practicing with it, I’ll be able to get better results. I don’t have to worry about pulling out lashes, bending them awkwardly, or getting them stuck like with a traditional curler. The heated curler heats up quickly, and cools down quickly as well. (Still, I wouldn’t put it back in the plastic tube until it’s had a good while to cool off, just to be safe). It’s important to keep in mind that while this curler appears to be relatively safe, you are still using it around your eyes and should be incredibly careful when you use it. This isn’t something you wanna use when you’re in a hurry or distracted, because well, it’s your eyes. If you’re looking for really curly lashes, this might not be the right tool for you. But as a quick way to add a little lift and curl, it’s a nice item to have laying around, and depending on the mascara you use with it, you could get some really good results. It’s also slim and lightweight, so you could definitely take it along with you for touch ups, although I’m not sure how well it would work after mascara. All in all, it’s pretty neat. If you’re in the market for a heated curler, this is a nice choice.

2 thoughts on “Review: Blinc Heated Eyelash Curler

  1. ~ Thanks for your wonderful post!
    I love all articles about eyelashes, mascara, as I have really straight lashes and when properly curled makes my eyes look bigger and gorgeous..

    I so love sharing with others about great products.~ The best ever“ heated eyelash curler I have ever found is the Hot Lashes eyelash curler, makeup Artist kit. Loved the reviews on Amazon and was impressed. There is also a site of the same name Hot Lashes.com.

    This curler is exactly like the Shu Uemura curler with a amazing 24K gold plated curler and this small pink heater base. Keeps my lashes curling till the next day. and my eyes really pop…HTH~

    • Thanks for your comment! I looked up the Hot Lashes curler and it looks really interesting, I’ve never seen one that sits in a base like that to heat up. That’s amazing that it holds the curl until the next day, too. The price is a bit too high for me, but I’ll keep it in mind for future reference. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

