Mini Review: StriVectin, First Aid Beauty, Eos

I wanted to quickly make a mini review of a few products I’ve either bought, or tried samples of lately and liked.

StriVectin-SH Age Protect SPF 30 – This is an oil free moisturizer for your face that comes complete with spf 30 (obviously, since it’s in the title). It’s formulated without parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances/dyes, or petrochemicals. Yay. I originally got this product as a mistake, actually. I redeemed my Sephora points for a deluxe sample of one of the other StriVectin products, but they were sold out and sent me this instead. At first I was a little bummed, but once I started using this stuff I loved it. It’s not too thick, absorbs quickly, and makes a great base to start your makeup with. I use mineral foundation and this has been my favorite moisturizer to use before makeup. Best of all, I never noticed any breakouts or problems associated with this. My only complaint is that a full sized bottle is $49, which is a little too steep to pay for lotion, in my humble opinion. But if you’re looking for a good moisturizer with spf, this is the best that I’ve found so far. A little goes a long way too, I managed to stretch my sample out for quite some time.

First Aid Beauty Ulta Repair Cream – This is another product that I received as a sample and ended up loving. This is a cream containing Colloidal Oatmeal, made for severely dry skin (and even things like Eczema, Keratosis Pilaris, etc. Just read the description on Sephora for the specifics). The product is also free of parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances/dyes, phthalates, and more. Their results claim that 98% of people noticed an instant relief from dry skin, with 100% reporting a lasting improvement in skin dryness. Sounds too good to be true, right? I often have dry, flaky skin and over the past several months I developed a few patches of dry skin that were noticeably darker and itchy. (Ew, I know, that’s probably TMI). One of them was on my leg and would itch like crazy. I put the sample on each of the dry patches, and just like they promised – instant relief. The patches started clearing up from the very first use! I used the sample packet very sparingly, and before it was finished all of the dry patches had completely cleared up. I was so impressed with this cream, especially considering I had tried many other lotions that did little, if anything for the dryness or itching. I also love knowing that this has fewer chemicals and no parabens, so I will most likely be buying a larger size soon.

Eos Sweet Mint Lip Balm – 95% natural and 100% organic, not bad for a lip balm, right? Paraben free, not tested on animals, and no animal byproducts either. I added this to my cart recently when I was shopping at Walmart.com. You can pick up these little spheres for around $3-$5. I love that the sphere has a little flat circle on the bottom, so it can stand up, but also a flat oval on the side to help you open it and keep it from rolling off your desk. The cap clicks on very securely, and because of the shape of the lip balm, its easy to find in your purse. Next time I would probably choose another flavor, but as a lip balm addict this one is high on my list. Is it the best lip balm I’ve ever used? Probably not, it’s good but I find myself reapplying it alot. But for the price, and knowing you’re using something organic and natural? This is definitely a product worth trying.

Lastly, Sephora currently has Stila eyeshadow palettes on sale for $12! They claim it’s a $54 value, and the colors definitely look pretty. I know some of you received a little card of Stila shadows in your Birchboxes this month, so if you were looking to buy them, I doubt you’ll find a better deal. They don’t however, have the smokey colors from the Birchboxes. That’s all for now, enjoy your weekend!

2 thoughts on “Mini Review: StriVectin, First Aid Beauty, Eos

  1. I *love* the Eos lip balms! Have you seen their hand lotion? I love it, too. I hate using lotion that feels sticky or leaves residue, but some lotions that don’t have those two properties are more like rubbing water into my hands. Their lotion moisturizes, and I can feel it, but I don’t feel like rubbing my hands on a towel after applying it.

  2. No, I didnt even know they made hand lotion. That’s pretty cool. Right now I’m still in love with L’Occitane hand lotion but it’s expensive, when I run out I might try the Eos. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

