Birchbox Review: May 2012 (Gossip Girl Box)

Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil Shampoo – This shampoo came in a long, narrow plastic sleeve enclosed in a cardboard flap the way perfume samples often come. It was a decent sized sample, even for my long hair. I wish it would’ve been resealable, but I just snipped a small corner off and kept it standing upright and was able to get a few uses out of it. I always wonder why they will send a shampoo sample without the matching conditioner. What if your conditioner sucks? Not that it’s a big deal, it just seems like it would make more sense to package them together so you could really get a feel for the line. Does Shu Uemura even have a conditioner that goes with this? Either way, I thought this shampoo had a really nice scent, and left my hair clean and shiny. I liked it alot, and would even consider making this my regular shampoo, if not for the ultra steep price tag. I think $55 for shampoo is just going a bit overboard, for me at least. Now that I read Birchbox’s description, I noticed that they instruct you to use a single pump of product. Had I known this earlier, I could’ve made the sample last quite a bit longer, and knowing you don’t need to use alot might sway some people who are skeptical of the price. If you got this sample, let us know how many uses you got out of it!

Miracle Skin Transformer Body SPF20 – I have another product similar to this that I use alot in the summer, it’s called Legs For Days by Bare Escentuals, although I’m not sure if they even sell it anymore. When I saw the Miracle Skin Transformer, I was excited to try another product like this to cover up some imperfections and give me a nice glow for summer. I also liked that this product contained spf, while my other one did not. Initially, I tried it on a small red mark on my leg. It made it a little fainter, and sparkly. I tried layering it on a little thicker, but the shade didn’t seem to suit me that well, and I was afraid that using too much would make me look dirty. Next I tried it on another mark I have on my ankle that is from an allergic reaction, and has been taking a while to disappear but is significantly faded. Once again, the product just didn’t cover it that well. Lastly I tried it all over my legs. It made me a little nervous to use this product, as the shade Glow looked like I was rubbing foundation a few shades too dark on my legs. When used all over, it worked fine, gave me a little sparkle but I didn’t see anything I would consider transforming and certainly not a miracle. Maybe later in the summer when I have a bit more color, it will work better for me. It blended in fine and my legs felt soft, but it just didn’t seem to cover anything. For now, I would not purchase this, but I did appreciate the size of the sample and I will definitely try it again.

Dior Diorshow Extase – This was the product in my box that I was most looking forward to trying. Generally, mascara is my lowest ranking beauty product. I wear it when I go out, but I feel like it’s not that important, so I always go for the standard Great Lash waterproof, or something similar from the drugstore. I wear one coat of mascara on the top lashes only. When I tried the Dior, I was immediately impressed. It had a fat little brush and it went on very smoothly. My lashes looked really nice, and what impressed me the most was how soft my lashes felt with it on. However, I wore it on a particularly long day and ended up falling asleep in a chair for a little bit, and when I woke up I had a big black mascara smudge under one eye. Now, I realize that’s not a dealbreaker since ‘able to sleep in it’ isn’t usually a mascara requirement, but if it can’t hold up during a short nap, is it going to hold up to hot summer days, sweat, or tears? Not to mention that it’s $28.50, and mascara should generally be tossed after about 3 months. I really did like it, but not enough to justify buying it right now.

Dior Miss Dior – I really am getting a little tired of all the perfume samples, to be honest. I feel like this is something you can get so easily, that I just really don’t enjoy getting them in a box of samples I’m paying for. I don’t mind them occasionally, but it’s getting too frequent for my taste. I absolutely hated this perfume, as well. It was really strong and gave me a headache, I had to wash it off quickly and could still smell it for quite a while. I tried to give it away but the other person didn’t like it either. I’m sure I’ll find a family member who wants it, but this is definitely not for me.

Gossip Girl Notecard – Some people were a bit upset that these couldn’t be reviewed, because they were “lifestyle extras” (aka, what used to be the ‘treat’). I was a little annoyed by that too, because it originally had a feedback button, it just wouldn’t work and the review form was blank. After trying to review it several times on different days, they finally removed that button entirely. Annoying. We’ve been able to review the treats before, but not always. (Like the detergent). Anyway, not a big deal. This was a cute notecard with XOXO on the front, and a matching envelope. I liked it well enough… no idea what I’m going to do with it but it’s cute and useful, so I can’t complain.

Overall, the Gossip Girl box was a little disappointing for me. I was hoping that since this was a special box we might get a full sized product, or something exciting. It wasn’t bad though, I feel like it was worth it and I enjoyed the shampoo and will get several more uses out of the mascara. If you got the same box I did, let me know what you thought of it! Or even if you got different products, leave a link to your review and I will check it out. 🙂

*Birchbox is a monthly subscription service that sends you an adorable little box of deluxe samples from high end brands each month for $10/mo. No extra shipping or fees, and the products you get are based on questions you answer when you sign up. To get your own Birchbox, click here.

5 thoughts on “Birchbox Review: May 2012 (Gossip Girl Box)

    • Can’t wait to see what you thought of it. By the way, after I missed out on the free Target beauty bags, I noticed on their fb page someone said they usually offer them through the site as well. I’ve been keeping an eye out, and just found them free w/ purchase of certain beauty items. Managed to get a nailpolish for just over 3 bucks (including tax and shipping) to qualify for the bag, score! Thanks so much for your post about those, otherwise I would’ve never known to look for them. 🙂 Can’t wait to check it out, the bag looks so pretty.

      • Wow, how did you get your total so cheap?! I picked up a $5 nail polish and the tax and shipping brought it over $11. Still worth it for the beauty bag, especially if it has a lip butter in it. Target had the same deal for the spring except you had to buy 3 qualifying items so this was nicer regardless.

      • I think the nail polish I got was just over $2, then tax, then the shipping was 50 cents. I was shocked about that, normally Target has super high shipping. Maybe it was just for those particular sized bottles, or a Memorial Day sale? I’m not sure, but I was happy about it! I think my total was $3.19 or so

      • O, that is so great!! I’m glad you found a way to snag one!! =D Resourceful one. ahahh 🙂

Leave a Reply

