Review: Mally 10 Piece Evercolor Eyeliner Library

Happy New Year everyone! Wishing you all a happy and healthy year in 2013! Now that the holidays are over, I’m hoping to get the site caught back up (including the Birchbox reviews I’m way behind on, sorry!). What better way to kick off the new year than with a makeup review? With chocolate, you say? Good point, eat some chocolate while you read this review. Or I’ll eat some chocolate while I write it for you. It’s a win-win.

I’ve seen Mally on QVC quite a few times, and I was always interested in her makeup but I haven’t had the chance to try it until recently. I needed some new eyeliner, so when her 10 piece Evercolor eyeliner library came up I couldn’t resist. My mom and I decided to order one set and split it since neither of us had ever used the brand before, and because we each liked different colors in the set. (You’ll notice in the pictures that the box is only half full, since we had already divided them up when I took these photos).

IMG_0365

The presentation on this set is really nice. It comes in a gray snakeskin print case with Mally written in gold lettering. The case isn’t too thick, probably an inch or so, and the top half lifts off completely. Inside, the box is lined in soft gray velvety fabric, with an accent strip of lace-printed coated paper. Each eyeliner is held in place with a small, stretchy fabric loop like a hair band. The liners themselves are in white tubes with the color clearly marked in a band around the end. Based solely on looks, this set makes a lovely gift. I’m fairly sure that the insert can be removed so that you can reuse the box for other things if you wanted.

IMG_0368

IMG_0375

The eyeliners come in the standard twist up tubes, with a small fine point on the end. Sadly, the sharp point only lasts about 12 seconds before it’s rounded off again. The good news is, that means these liners go on very smoothly with barely any tugging on your eyelid. There is a nice variety of colors in the set; the ones that I kept are black, dark green, gold, a shimmery pink, and purple. The others in the set were gray, brown, taupe, bronze and navy.

It took me a while to decide to write this review, because at first I really wasn’t sure how I felt about these eyeliners. Overall, the Evercolor library is very pretty and the color selection is nice to have. The colors that I got show up fairly well and seem to last until I take them off with no real issues of flaking and only minor smudging once it’s set. What I don’t like about them is that it’s nearly impossible to get a crisp line with these. I usually like to wing my liner, and it’s incredibly difficult to do with these. Forget about a sharp line, it’s probably not going to happen. (Although I’m willing to admit that there are alot of people more skilled with eyeliner than I am, who might be able to make it work). I also don’t like the fact that some of the colors are difficult to tell apart once they’re on. For instance, dark green, dark purple.. they look so similar on your eye that it kind of defeats the purpose of having so many to choose from. If they were side by side, the comparison would probably be much easier, but that’s not how you wear them in real life, so I wish the colors were just a little more vibrant. My favorite color is the shimmering pink (pink champagne) because it works well in the inner corner of your eye and I’ve even used it on the waterline with pretty nice results. I normally do not line my entire eye, and the pink champagne is the only color I’ve tried on the waterline so I can’t yet say how well that holds up with darker colors. I prefer to use shadow along my lower lashline instead.

If you’re new to the Mally brand, or looking to experiment with a wider range of eyeliner colors, this could be a good set for you. It also makes a nice gift due to the way it’s boxed up, and the selection takes the guess work out of picking colors for someone else. These make good everyday liners, when you want a soft smudged look and need something quick and easy, or if you aren’t that skilled with eyeliner and want something that hides mistakes. I think the main drawback of this set is that it’s just overpriced. It lists on QVC for about $50, and once they add their shipping and tax, its more like $60. I realize that for ten eyeliners that is still a good deal, but I feel like these really aren’t THAT far above drugstore quality. I would never purchase these liners individually, but I will continue to wear the ones that I have. I really do like them fine, I just don’t love them. If you’re looking for a cleaner line, my favorite is the Eyeko eyeliner that I received in a previous Birchbox. Have you tried Mally eyeliners? Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Review: Mally 10 Piece Evercolor Eyeliner Library

  1. Your reviews are so thorough…I love them. 🙂 That said, I think I’ll be saving my pennies on this then…I keep hearing good things about Eyeko, though, so maybe I need to pick your brain further there… 🙂

  2. Aw thanks, I’m glad you like the reviews. I’m kind of obsessed with the Eyeko. The best way I can describe it is a fine felt point marker for your eyes. I love the sharp tip, it goes on easily, and you can get the majority of it off with just water. That being said, I’ve never had it run or anything. I’m going to order another one from Birchbox soon. It’s definitely a sharp, bold line though. I haven’t tried smudging it but you could probably soften it a little with eyeshadow if it wouldn’t smudge.

Leave a Reply

