Review: Zoya Storm

Since Zoya is still running their promo for 3 free* polishes ($10 shipping), I thought I would post a quick review of the polish I’m currently wearing. Storm is an opaque black polish with holographic microdiamond glitter, and comes from the Ornate collection.

Image(These aren’t the best pics, I took them quickly with my ipod before I went to do dishes)

Now, not everyone likes black polish, and I think sometimes when you mention black polish people get a mental image of angsty teenagers with chipped, peeling black nails. No offense to any angsty teenagers out there. In reality, black polish can look very classy when it’s done right and goes well with alot of outfits.

Storm makes a really great introduction to black polish. The formula is nice, just like most Zoya polishes, and it goes on smoothly and dries quickly. The addition of the holographic micro glitter gives it a nice shimmery effect when the light hits it, and in my mind I kind of picture this as being the polish Rainbow Brite would wear when she grew up. Was that weird? Probably so.

One coat of Storm won’t really look black, it looks more smokey and dark gray. You could possibly wear it this way, if you could get an even enough application to hide streaks. I wouldn’t recommend it though. Personally, I wasn’t really happy with this polish until I got to three coats. That way, the black looks very intense and dark, giving a nice contrast to the microglitter. I often skip topcoats (Gasp! I know!), and I am not wearing one in the picture, but this polish really calls for it. I need to clean up around the cuticles and add a topcoat later, but I wanted to post this review quickly for anyone who is still indecisive about Storm.

I am really happy with this polish. I wasn’t sure how I would feel about the rainbow/holo look over black, but it’s actually very pretty. I love that the glitter is so fine, as opposed to large chunks because it keeps the look a little more simple. If you’re still intimidated by black polish, here are a few simple tips I normally keep in mind when wearing it.

  • If your nails are naturally long and will grow back quickly, cut them. This is a personal quirk of mine, but I always feel like black polish looks classier on short nails. I did cut mine, but I wish I would’ve done them a little shorter.
  • Push back your cuticles and get rid of any hangnails. That’s right, black polish calls for a full on manicure.
  • Shape your nails. File them and make sure they are as even and nicely shaped as you can get them.
  • It’s a good idea to use a base coat to help prevent some of the staining that comes with dark colors.
  • Paint your nails on a steady surface with alot of light so that you don’t make as many mistakes.
  • Topcoat. Dull black polish isn’t going to look as clean and neat as glossy will.
  • Cleanup! This is a big one, and one I didn’t follow before taking the above pictures. (Do as I say, not as I do! Hehe). If you’re going to wear black polish, be sure to clean up the edges. The best way to do this is with a little brush dipped in polish remover, and be sure to never use that brush for anything other than polish remover ever again.
  • Moisturize your hands well after you polish. With such a dark color, you’ll be attracting more attention to your hands, so make sure they’re in good shape.

I know that alot of these tips sound like common sense or really basic things, but with darker polish it’s more important to start with a good base. Keeping the look as neat as possible will make black polish more wearable for people who aren’t used to it. With lighter colors, you can get away with a quick coat or two of polish and not worry so much about the details, but with black polish any mistakes will really stand out and ruin your overall look.

That’s all for now. I’ll try to replace the pics above with some nicer ones when I have time. Now go get your free polish! (Details from the Zoya promo can be found in the previous post).

Leave a Reply

