Birchbox Review: February 2013

Once again I’m sorry for the slow updates. Real life stuff has been kind of crazy, and has taken priority. I’m going to try to get things caught up here and get back to regular updating. I’m still planning to catch up the Birchbox reviews that I missed from the end of the year, but for now, here’s Februarys’ review! (And my March Birchbox will be arriving in the next day or two, so I’ll have a preview up as soon as I get it).

FebruaryBirchbox2013

TIGI Rockaholic Fun Times Flexible Hairspray – It’s pretty cool to get a can of hairpray in a Birchbox, and check out that size. It’s a very respectable travel sized can that would be perfect if you’re the kind of person to carry hairspray in your purse. I generally don’t, but I still love the amount of product here because you really get a chance to try this stuff out. For reference, this can is about twice the size of the Oscar Blandi texture spray from a month or two ago. Which means that TIGI loves you more than Oscar Blandi does. I have used and liked TIGI products in the past, but never one of their hairsprays. One odd thing is that the preview image on Birchbox shows the Catwalk hairspray in a black can, and I got the Rockaholic. That’s not a problem for me  since I had no preference, I just found it interesting. The packaging of the Rockaholic is really cute though, isn’t it? I love that the formula is a flexible hold, since I can’t stand the crunchy, glued-in-place look that some hairsprays give. In fact, I rarely even use hairspray at all for that reason. The first time I used this, I really wasn’t that impressed. The second time I used it, I curled my hair all over with a curling iron and then finished my style with this hairspray, using a little more than I did the first time. It was a windy day and my curls held up surprisingly well, which is quite a trick for long, thick hair. I probably could’ve made them last even longer if I had wound each curl back up and put it in clips to cool, then sprayed it. Once my curls were gone, my hair still had alot of bounce and while it wasn’t ‘curly’, it maintained a nice soft styled look. I was very satisfied with this hairspray and would consider purchasing the full size – however the full size can is a whopping $20.50, and at the moment I’m not ready to spend that much on it. We’ll see how long the sample lasts and how attached I get to it – I could always use Birchbox points for it.

The Balm Cosmetics Mary-Lou Manizer – This is my second sample like this from The Balm, although at the moment I can’t remember the name of the first one. This one is a luminizing powder in a cute little flip open box that has a magnetic closure. Birchbox describes it as “honey hued”. I’ve seen several people online complaining about the size of these, but apparently those people have never bought a pallete before. The little pan is basically the size you would find in most small palettes, although those may be a little deeper. Either way, these are a great size for a sample, and I love the magnetic closure which makes it easy to carry with you. Like the hairspray, this is a perfect purse size, and this would even fit in your smallest evening bags. I love highlighting products like this for the inner corners of my eyes, cheekbones, and brow bones. This is a lovely color and works well. Some people also complained about larger brushes not fitting ‘in’ to this sample. I used a large brush and had no issues with it, I just swiped the brush over the whole thing and it worked fine for me. The full size of Mary-Lou Manizer comes in a mirrored compact for $24. I like the product and have already used it several times and will continue to do so, but I’m not sure I would buy the full size. If I saw it in a kit however, it would definitely be a selling point. I really do love the versatility of it though, and you can even wear it as an eyeshadow itself.

Juicy Couture Couture La La – As I’m sure I’ve mentioned many times, I’m really tired of perfume samples popping up SO often in Birchboxes. I think I’ve received one nearly every month since I signed up for Birchbox. On top of that, many of the samples were from Juicy Couture. I may have even received this same one before, though I’m not sure of it. Since I am not much of a perfume person and didn’t particularly care for this scent, I will just post the description of it for you. “Bright and zesty mandarin, crisp green apple, and tart red currant notes open up the fragrance, while soft lily of the valley and orange blossom lend it a hint of chic femininity.” So, there’s that. If you like zesty mandarin and crisp green apple to showcase your chic femininity, this might be the perfume for you. I sort of understand Birchboxs’ reasoning for adding a perfume sample in nearly every box, they want to balance it so you have something from different categories; like a hair product, skin product, etc. Still though, alot of us just aren’t that into perfume, and get headaches from stronger fragrances, so it would be nice to have that included on your profile. “How interested are you in recieving perfume samples, on a scale of 1-5?”  “Negative 0, thank you very much.”

Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate with Caramel Square – This was apparently a very, very quiet nod to Valentines Day with this little chocolate square. Am I crazy for thinking holiday boxes should be a little more… holiday-ish? I suppose there was alot of pink in this one… if you count the hairspray top, and the perfume packaging. Even as a single person, I would still enjoy something a little festive for holidays like this; at least for Valentines, Christmas, and New Years. But, I digress. I never got around to trying this chocolate, even though I planned to, despite the fact that I don’t like eating things from the mail. Maybe I will try it eventually, it probably is still fresh? Maybe? I don’t really know. Anyway, you can get a box full of these things at the grocery store. I do love chocolate though, so we’ll just consider it a nice treat instead of my usual reaction to food in the Birchbox: “A granola bar in my box? WHAT?? I AM NOT A SQUIRREL.”

Dr. Lipp Original Nipple Balm For Lips: I’ll admit, the name of this surprised me at first. “Nipple balm??” Once I read about it a little and realized that this product was originally invented for nursing moms but became popular as a lipbalm, it made more sense. Versatile products like this are always great, and while some people who reviewed this were a bit put off by the title and concept, it didn’t bother me. I’m a big fan of using shea butter practically from head to toe, so I didn’t find it strange to use a product on your lips that you could also use on your skin. It’s not like each tube was pre tested on someone else’s.. yknow what, nevermind that. The point is, it’s a squeeze tube and you apply it with your fingers, not an applicator, so it stays clean. When I opened this, I thought it was one of those samples that is barely filled and mostly air. The truth is, it’s just difficult to get out of the tube; this stuff is really thick. I started using it on my lips, and as a lip balm junkie I can honestly say that I love this product. It leaves a slight, healthy shine and makes my lips really soft. It seems to last a long time and I love that once I put it on with my finger I can just rub the excess into my cuticles. It works well on dry skin patches too, and I am really pleased with this product. You only need a tiny amount for your lips so this sample should last a while. I will most likely purchase the full size when I have enough points, and my only hesitation is having a big tube labeled ‘nipple balm’ sitting on my desk. Maybe I’ll just mark that part out. ; )

I thought this was a great Birchbox and loved 3 out of 5 of the products, and since I didn’t try the chocolate I could possibly love 4 out of 5. I think it was a good value especially since even the chocolate square was able to be reviewed for points, making a total of 50 points for this box. (100 points equals $10 off in the Birchbox shop). I will definitely purchase at least one full sized product from this box and possibly more. Really, I could see myself using the hairspray, lip balm, and manizer on a regular basis so I might purchase more than one full size. As usual, everything was packaged really nicely too. I just love Birchbox!

*Birchbox is a subscription service that delivers deluxe beauty samples for $10 a month. Products are selected for you based on a profile you fill out, and you can review your samples for points to spend on full sizes. To get your own Birchbox, you can use my referral link (Thank you!!) here. If you use my link, I get some points and I will do a happy dance and will like you so much.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox Review: February 2013

  1. This was the box I got, too! My reactions were about the same as yours (although I ate my chocolate). I tossed the perfume straight into a giveaway bag, loved the lip balm (hate the name, though), and like the luminizer. I was bummed about the hairspray despite the great size because I never use hairspray so I figured it was useless to me. However, I do have some job interviews coming up so I am thinking it might be good for keeping my wispy hairs from making a break for it when I want to look more polished than usual. All in all this box was a winner for me.

    • Thanks for the comment! Love hearing what everyone got in their box and their impressions of it. That’s cool that we got the same box, I liked that one quite a bit. Also, my March box had NO perfume sample, hooray! I say give the hairspray a chance, Birchbox is about discovering products you don’t normally use, so why not? 🙂

Leave a Reply

