Review: Zoya Pixie Dust

zoyagodivaRecently, Zoya launched a new line of nail polish called Pixie Dust. These polishes dry to a textured matte finish with sparkles. Originally the collection included Dahlia (black), Chyna (red), Godiva (nude), Vespa (green), Nyx (blue), and London (gray). These colors are somewhat softer, more muted shades. Zoya has now released the summer Pixie Dust shades for pre-order, and they are available in more vibrant shades of yellow, orange, blue, pink and purple.

Normally I don’t like anything textured on my nails, even rhinestones in nail art can be annoying, but the swatches for the Pixie Dust polish were so beautiful that I couldn’t resist. I ordered Zoya Godiva with my last nail polish haul, and was anxious to try it out. The swatches I have found online were very similar to the results that I achieved, although I have to say it’s even prettier in person.

I found that two coats of Godiva was enough, although some people might want to use three. At first I was a little surprised because this color is so close to my skintone that from a distance it was pretty much undetectable. Even so, I could not stop staring at it. Up close, the sparkles made the polish truly beautiful and unique. One description that I read compared it to sparkling beach sand, and that is pretty close to the truth.

Now to the important part; the texture. At first, it was really, really weird. The only comparison I could think of, was like having a nail file on your nails, or covering them in sandpaper. This isn’t entirely accurate though, because while it is textured and somewhat course, it’s a softer texture than a file or sandpaper. Due to some things going on in my life, I didn’t have a chance to change this polish for about two weeks, and in all that time it never snagged on anything. Gradually, I got used to the texture and it didn’t bother me at all, although I would still fidget with it from time to time. If it had been any rougher than it was, I wouldn’t have been able to stand wearing it for long, but as it was, I found myself drooling over the rest of the collection as well. Thanks to the neutral color, once it eventually started to chip, it wasn’t noticeable at all and I got a little more wear out of it than I normally would’ve.

When it was time to finally remove this polish, I expected shredded cotton balls and a huge mess, the way that glitter polish usually proves so difficult to take off. I used Zoya Remove and was delighted to find that it came off fairly quickly without too much effort.

Overall, I think the Pixie Polishes are absolutely beautiful. The soft colors and the matte finish look fantastic with the sparkle. The application was easy, they seem to be pretty long wearing, and the removal was no problem. The new summer line looks even more gorgeous than the original set. Pixie Polishes cost $1 more per bottle than the regular finish polishes, at $9 each. The texture may take a little getting used to, but if you can’t stand it you can always add a thick topcoat. Basically, there is no reason NOT to try this polish! Go get some!

2 thoughts on “Review: Zoya Pixie Dust

  1. I was very reluctant to try these because I have a strong aversion to sandpaper-y things – I have never even been able to use emery boards because the texture gives me the willies. But I broke down and got a bottle of the Godiva because it looked SO pretty and I must admit pictures cannot do it justice. I use a liberal layer of topcoat to smooth it out but it doesn’t diminish the sparkle as much as I had feared. I think I will definitely be getting one or two of the summer colors!

    • Glad to hear that it worked out for you also! It really is a lovely color, I’ll have to try it topcoated at some point. 🙂 I’m trying not to look at the summer collection too much until it’s been a respectable amount of time since I last bought polish, lol. I still have colors from my last haul that I haven’t used yet!

Leave a Reply

