Review: Kiehls Ultra Facial Oil-Free Cleanser

kiehls_ultrafacialoilfreecleanser_300x300Recently, I decided it was time for me to cash in some of my Birchbox points (which are awesome, by the way, and the best reward system of any of the monthly boxes). I knew I wanted to buy another Eyeko liquid eyeliner, which is now my favorite eyeliner, and I picked up a bottle of Zoya Remove as well. For my last item I wanted to get a new face cleanser because I was running out of Real Purity by Philosophy. To be honest, Purity is okay, but I’ve never been THAT impressed by it. I continued to use it because it worked well with my Clarisonic and I was able to get deluxe samples of it a few times with other purchases.

I knew that I wanted to try something different this time, and I was looking for a cleanser without alot of chemicals and gunk in it. Browsing around the Birchbox shop, I found the Kiehls cleanser and read the reviews. I checked out the reviews of it from other sites as well, and read alot of positive things about it. It’s sulfate free, paraben free, silicone free, oil free, and fragrance free so it sounded like exactly what I was looking for.

When I got this in the mail, things in my life were pretty crazy. I started using it sporadically without putting any thought into it at all. I noticed that it lathered really nicely and felt alot like washing my face with some kind of nice soap. After I had been using this for a while, I was putting on my makeup one day and thought, “wow, my skin looks clear… why does it look so good?” I started trying to think of what I was doing differently, and then I remembered that I had been occasionally using this cleanser, and it was the only new thing in my routine. I started to use it more often and continued to notice that when I use it my skin looks clearer, feels softer, more even, and overall just looks better. The best part is that you only need a tiny amount to get your whole face clean, and the lather is really soothing.

The only downside I’ve found so far to this cleanser, if it can even be called a downside, is that it can be a little drying if you use it alot. My skin gets pretty dry anyway though, so this might not be a problem for everyone. I feel like if I could use it more often, my skin would be even clearer, but I don’t want to overdo it so I often only use it at night or even skip a day or two from it. I’m hoping to try some of the other Kiehl’s products which might help with that. Birchbox, if you’re reading this, send me some more Kiehl’s items in my box! ; )

The Kiehl’s cleanser is available from the Birchbox shop for $19.50, and is also available on several other websites. I feel like this is a good value for the money since it’s a good size and you only need such a tiny amount, it will last a long time. This has on occasion burned my eyes a little, but I had the same issue with Purity – just be careful to keep it away from your eye area. Because of that, and the slight tendency to dry out my skin a bit, I would give it four and a half out of five stars. So far I think it’s the best cleanser I’ve ever used.

Leave a Reply

