Review: Birchbox Salma Hayak Nuance Box

I meant to review this ages ago but I just haven’t gotten around to it. Sorry about that! But without further delay, here’s my review of the Salma Hayak Nuance Birchbox. (I received this box and these products absolutely free for being a Birchbox subscriber).

nuancebirchbox

AM/PM Anti Aging Super Cream – This sample came in a small clear jar, packaged in a little box (center of image). I love the little jar because it actually clicks and locks the lid into place. I really liked the idea of a morning and night cream and I was hoping that this would work well for me. Unfortunately, my acne prone skin didn’t take very well to it, and after one use I seemed to break out more, so I stopped using it. It seemed like a nice product and I would’ve liked to continue using it, maybe I’ll try it again one of these days. The full size of this is $19.99.

Super Secret Moisturizing Body Cream – This was a FULL sized bottle of lotion ($15 value) and I was really excited about that. Initially, I wasn’t crazy about the smell but I did get used to it, and it doesn’t linger too much on your skin. It does a great job of moisturizing and my skin continued to stay soft for a long time after each use. I don’t use it everyday, but I do use it on a regular basis and I think it’s a great product that’s worth the price. I will probably buy more when I run out.

Mamey Fruit Volumizing Shampoo and Conditioner – I love that both the shampoo and conditioner were included in this box, to let you see how they work together. The samples were a decent size and I got several uses out of them. The shampoo and conditioner had an overall pleasant scent which other people seemed to like even more than I did. I wouldn’t say they were spectacular, but they were definitely good and I did end up purchasing the full size of both. The only thing I dislike is that the slim bottles of the full size, while nice to look at, don’t hold alot of product. They are $7.99 each so just take a look at the fl oz compared to what you usually use, before you make up your mind about trying them.

Lights, Camera, Action Eye Trio – This was the product that I was most looking forward to trying, because I love eye makeup. The stick design is fantastic for throwing in your purse yet still giving you a good amount of product. One end has liquid eyeshadow, the other end has eyeliner, and the middle is a highlighter. Again I just have to point out how much I love the packaging. I’ve seen products like Mark that have different things on each end, but this was really well done. The end cap that has the eyeliner was especially nice, because it’s still a twist up, soft eyeliner. The highlighter is like a white lipstick with a rounded end, and the shadow has a little doefoot applicator. I naturally assumed that the packaging was the gimmick, and that the products themselves would.. quite frankly, suck. I was pleasantly surprised that this wasn’t the case at all. The trio I recieved had a nice shimmery brown shadow, that went on easily and looked quite pretty when dry. The only trick to this is to not over apply it, otherwise it can look too thick and a little creased. Just put it on quickly, let it dry and then blend a little if you want. The black eyeliner twists up easily, goes on smoothly and fast, and lasts a long time. It’s difficult to get a winged edge with it, but you can use a brush and blend it out into one. I actually like this liner better than my Mally eyeliner.  The highlighter goes on soft and is super easy to blend with your fingers for a little shimmer on the browbone and inner corners, etc. I love this product for when I’m in a hurry and it’s a great item to take with you. I probably wouldn’t leave it anywhere where it might get too hot, as the highlighter is already soft and could potentially melt, but otherwise it’s awesome. For travel or unexpected overnight stays this is ideal. All you need is a mini mascara and you’ve got an entire eye look in two little tubes. I would guess that the eye trio is around 6-8 inches long, but that’s just off the top of my head. Full size is $8.79 and worth every penny in my opinion.

Nuance products are sold exclusively at CVS. This box was provided for free to certain Birchbox subscribers whose profile showed that they might be interested in trying it. (Have I mentioned how much I LOVE Birchbox?) To get your own Birchbox, click here!

Leave a Reply

