Summer Reading

I thought I would take a little break from the beauty reviews and write about some of the books I’ve enjoyed lately, in case you’re looking for some light summer reading. I considered making a whole page of the site devoted to book reviews, but I think it would just end up overlooked. So for now, it’s just going to be a quick list of some stuff you might want to check out this summer while you’re hanging by the beach or wherever it is you go to relax. Keep in mind that I consider ‘summer reading’ to be enjoyable books that you can get through fairly quickly. You won’t find Pride and Prejudice or things of that nature on this list, and that’s not because I haven’t read it (I have!) it’s just that this list is less about literature and more about passing the time with something fun. I’ll try not to put anything that would count as a spoiler in my descriptions, but if you see something I should omit let me know.

Deviants: The Dust Chronicles – This was a book that I wasn’t even planning to read, but my mom had read it and enjoyed it and she loaned me her kindle so that I could read it too. It came a big storm one night so I settled in to start the book. By the next afternoon, I had finished it. I didn’t mean to read it so fast, I just couldn’t put it down. This book is in the Young Adult category I believe, and the best way I can describe it is The Hunger Games meets X-Men. The main character is a 16 year old girl, Glory, who lives in a post-apocalyptic dome in a strict society of rules, poverty, and starvation. Sounds a little bleak, right? The story begins with her orphaned, struggling to feed herself and her brother who everyone believes is dead. There are some in this society that have developed special abilities, and they are hiding all over the city to avoid being discovered and thrown out of the dome to savage creatures that exist in the dusty, unbreathable air outside.  I don’t recommend reading the Amazon description of this book because I feel that it gives a little too much away. There’s alot of action in the story and a little bit of romance without it being over the top sappy.

Compliance: The Dust Chronicles – This is the sequel to Deviants, and I think there is going to be a third at some point. This one I started the day that I finished Deviants, and I was done with it the same night. This story focuses more on Glory trying to help others and being torn between who she can trust and who she can’t. If you liked the first book you will most likely enjoy this one too, though it ended a little sooner than I would’ve liked.

The Hunger Games – I’m sure that most people who read this type of book have already read The Hunger Games ages ago. If you haven’t, you really should check it out. Seeing the movie definitely doesn’t count. The movie does a really good job adapting the story to film, but the books have alot more depth to the relationships and the story. Obviously, there’s only so much they can put in a two hour movie. The next movie is coming out this fall, so do yourself a favor and read all three books in the series if you plan to see it (The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay). I think those three books are probably my favorite series ever so I had to include them.

Heir Untamed – If you’re looking for a fairly quick beach read, this is a pretty decent choice. It’s about a photographer who is about to lose her apartment, and is suddenly offered a job to travel to another country and live for a few months taking pictures of royalty. She moves into a castle, is charmed by a prince, and meets another handsome, rugged man who works for the family. Someone is out to get her from day one so there’s a little mystery thrown in as well. It ends a little abruptly due to the fact that this is book 1 in a series, but there is enough resolved to feel like it wasn’t a waste of time. This is a good choice for when you just want something light that doesn’t require alot of thought, but still throws out a surprise or two. A castle, a prince, and a sexy outdoor type guy… not a bad story indeed. ; ) The kindle edition of this is free, so that’s mainly why it makes the list and why I read it in the first place.

That’s all for now. Maybe soon I’ll post a summer playlist as well. Would you guys like more book related posts? Let me know if you read any of these, I’d love to hear what you thought! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

