This And That

Hey guys,

Sorry for the lack of posts lately. I had some computer problems for a while there, and just as soon as I got those resolved, I got sick. Anyway I’ll try to get caught up a bit here soon. I’m also thinking of changing the theme or making some other updates around here, I’m a bit bored with the layout.

In the meantime, I thought I would rant a little bit, and you may have seen me post about this on Twitter recently…

What is the deal with beauty bloggers who use their Twitter feed to post photos of total strangers, simply for the purpose of mocking their outfit? For starters, if I follow you on Twitter and I see something like that, it’s usually an instant unfollow. I don’t have time for your catty negativity. Now, I get it, we all make jokes and sometimes nudge a friend and say “omg look at what that person is wearing!” But there is a very big difference between a comment to a friend, and a post that goes out to hundreds if not thousands of followers. Just think if that person happened to be a follower as well. I know with alot of the popular YouTube beauty bloggers, they have alot of young girls who really look up to them. How would that make them feel to see themselves mocked by someone they admire? And I know that seems unlikely but people are always posting about running into followers while they’re out at the store or random places. I’m really not even talking about the kind of pictures where someone is accidentally in the background, or facing the other way and someone posts a pic of their shoes or whatever. I guess what really ticked me off about this is that recently one of the people I follow posted a picture of a girl on the subway, and used one of those apps that puts several photos in one little collage, so there were 3-4 pictures of a total stranger, clearly showing her face and her outfit and she had no idea she was being photographed. (I no longer follow this person as a result). Are we turning into a culture of amateur paparazzi? It’s ridiculous. The defense that I always see about this is, “well, they were out in public dressed like that, so it’s okay.” As if we don’t all have bad hair/outfit days? I’m sure the people posting these things have run out to the store in a hurry, or sick, or on laundry day or for whatever reason at SOME point looking less than perfect, and would they want strangers lurking around every corner posting photos of them? Who gave you the right to judge everyone anyway?

I don’t know why this irritates me so much. Other than that I feel like it’s really invading someones privacy to do something like that. They didn’t ask to have their picture taken by you, or to be posted on your page. At least blur their faces, or if you want to make fun of a trend, find a magazine photo of it or an ad, not some poor unsuspecting person just trying to get to work. It’s like our society is stuck in a High School, Mean Girls mentality and nobody seems to mind. None of us are perfect but we can try to at least have a little respect for eachother and ourselves. Grow up, show some class, and try being prettier on the inside as well as the outside. What do you guys think, am I taking this too seriously? Would you be okay with total strangers posting photos of you without your permission to judge your hair/clothes/makeup?

Anyway, sorry for the rant. In more relevant news, I’m waiting on six new Zoya polishes to arrive from their recent BOGO deal (yay). I’ll be sure to post a picture when they arrive, they’re all pixie dust shades because I just couldn’t resist. And in case you didn’t know, Zoya is doing a Twitter game called Tune Tuesdays now where you can win polish. They also have a new website with bigger images, and it’s very pretty.

That’s all for now!

2 thoughts on “This And That

  1. I don’t understand people like that. I understand snark and sarcasm, but I don’t understand being mean just to be mean. And no, you’re totally not taking that too seriously.

    I haven’t used my Zoya since before I moved…I miss that, I need to do my nails this weekend, might help my mood, too…. 🙂

  2. I don’t use Twitter much so I thankfully have been spared this phenomenon but it sounds utterly deplorable. Your response and reaction are completely justified!

Leave a Reply

