Birchbox Preview: February 2014

ImageHere’s a quick preview of my latest Birchbox. You can see there’s a shampoo and conditioner, and I’m glad that those are in bottles rather than packets. I also like when they include the matching conditioner because you can get a better feel for the brand. Next up was a topcoat that has a blue tint to it. I’m not too sure how that’s going to work out, but we’ll see. I love nail stuff so I will definitely try to make it work. Then there’s an eye cream, I’m kind of ‘meh’ about that. In theory I want to use eye cream to prevent wrinkles but in reality I am lazy so I don’t know if I’ll actually use it. This looks like a generous sample size but it feels like one of those tubes that has more air than product in it, but I’ll find out and write about it in the full review. Lastly, there are a couple of packets of tea. I’m Southern… I drink sweet tea. Lipton, to be precise. Not green tea, not black tea, not fancy tea… just sweet tea. What really bugs me about this is that out of my last four Birchboxes, THREE of them have included some kind of tea. I suppose tea is the new perfume sample this year. Sorry, not impressed.

All that being said, this was the February box and there was absolutely nothing Valentine related in it. Isn’t that a little weird? Even as a single person, I like the Valentines stuff. I would’ve loved to see some red and pink nail wraps or lipstick, or maybe even some fake eyelashes. Not only was it very unValentine, but this was the US Weekly box so I expected it to be full of really neat stuff and new products. So far, it just didn’t wow me… but we’ll see what happens when I actually try the products. I’m not sure how an OPI blue tinted polish, eye cream and tea relate to US Weekly, but I can’t say that I read it either. Maybe all they write about is how to drink tea with blue-ish nails while staying wrinkle free around the eyes.

If that sounds irresistible to you, sign up for a Birchbox of your own here. They’ve been advertising that you can still get the US Weekly box if you sign up now, (which may or may not have the products I received) and they also said if you sign up now you get 100 free points which equals $10 in the Birchbox shop. That’s a pretty awesome deal since it’s only $10 a month, so if you’ve been hesitant about trying Birchbox, now is a good time. Check the site for more details about the US Weekly box and the points. While I don’t love this box so far, I do love Birchbox and some of the items you could possibly get this month looked better than mine.

Also I decided to write to AE one more time about the issue I mentioned in my last post, and to their credit they wrote me back within an hour or two and sent a new code. This one actually worked, so yay, free bra! Thanks Aerie!

That’s all for now, check back later for a full review on my February Birchbox.

3 thoughts on “Birchbox Preview: February 2014

    • Hehe no its more like I should’ve removed my rant/whine once it was resolved. I was curious if anyone else had any issues with that promo though. My free bra arrived very quickly (yesterday) so I’m happy about it now. It even came with air pads, did you know that was a thing?? Because let me tell you, I did not. Gel pads sure, but air? Good to know that my boobs will be protected in case of a collision though lol.

Leave a Reply

